How many symphonies did Beethoven compose?


1 Answers

Dan Banks Profile
Dan Banks answered
In total, Ludwig van Beethoven wrote nine symphonies, which were:

Beethoven's symphonies.
  • Symphony No.1 in C major. Composed in 1799-1800 and first performed in 1800.
  • Symphony No.2 in D major. Composed in 1801-02 and first played in 1803.
  • Symphony No.3 in E-flat major. Known as 'Eroica', composed in 1803-04 and premiered in 1804.
  • Symphony No.4 in B-flat major. Composed in 1806 and first played in 1807.
  • Symphony No.5 in C minor. Composed in 1804-08 and premiered in 1808.
  • Symphony No.6 in F major. Known as 'Pastoral'. Composed in 1804-08 and premiered in 1808.
  • Symphony No.7 in A major. Composed 1811-12 and first played in 1813.
  • Symphony No.8 in F major. Composed 1812 and premiered in 1814.
  • Symphony No.9 in D minor. Known as 'Choral'. Composed in 1817-24 and premiered in 1824.
In addition to these pieces, Beethoven wrote a further nine concertos, and a whole range of incidental music, overtures and theatrical works.

Answer Question